good | bad | profile | band | remember-it |diaryland
i picked up the word "incidentally" from The Perks of Being A Wallflower
2004-01-15 - 12:03 p.m.

I often find that the people that are the best at things are also the most humble about their talent.

In math class, the topic of skiing came up. The discussion got into snowboarding and skill levels and what not, each "cool kid" saying they do "DOUBLE BLACK DIAMONDS ALL THE WAY!" I, as usual, kept my mouth shut. The kids who never really snowboard just tuned out and started doing their homework.

Soon the conversation turned to cars, and each "cool kid" was making fun of the other about their cars, and how "I'D BURN YOU ON A STICK!" and "DUDE, IT'S ONLY, LIKE, A COUPLE HOURS FROM HEA TO ATTITASH! KID, AH YOU SERIOUS?"

I think the best part was that the kid who is actually a professional snowboarder who sits next to me didn't say one word the whole time. He didn't feel the need to brag about snowboarding like some of the other kids were.

I look at the kid's grades and I see straight F's. Just talking to him, you find out he's an avid drug user. He makes fun of everyone and everything, hates everyone and everything, and probably even makes fun of me when I'm not around.

For some reason he's admirable. Not because of the drugs and snowboarding and stuff. Just the way he's humbled himself.

And he's one of my best friends at my school, which is kind of weird, because I'm nothing like him.

My definition of "friends" in this school is different from any type of "friend." It's really just someone that you can eat lunch with and maybe say something to online.

Incidentally, it's time to eat lunch right now.

earlier - later