good | bad | profile | band | remember-it |diaryland
I Am Not the Enemy
2004-01-24 - 12:54 a.m.

Ah...what a day.

You've been waiting for a long time to do that, haven't you? "Cornering" the two of us, then letting out with that rant about love. You made me feel like shit, man. Of course you're entitled to your own opinion. But to call something you have no idea about fake?

Don't say that shit to me, man. You obviously don't know me, you don't know her.

Just admit you may have something more than a crush on her and maybe then you'll realize what the hell we [I] feel for our girls.

The presentation today was great. Each time the guy did a character (even though he was a black guy) I saw another character standing up there on stage. Except for the first Bob Marley character. That one wasn't so great.

Then he went into this fat Boston-bred prisoner who killed this girl drunk driving. He threw in some good black jokes then.

Then he turned into this seven year old girl, babbling about her favorite things. He went through that girl growing up. She turned out to be the sister of the girl that was hit by the prisoner. She started cutting herself to stop the emotional pain she was feeling.

He changed into this black kid, Jurmain, who came from a poor family, but his mom worked to get him into a good school, and he ended up going to Bates, even though he used to be a huge fuck-up.

He turned into a sailor-boy next, a stoner one, not caring about anyone but himself. He went into detail about how his parents give him all the money he needs, and how he shuns homeless people. It was pretty good because he just put on this stoner face and a backwards hat. And that's how i knew he was a sailor boy.

Then he changed into this Puerto Rican. At this point I totally had lost the fact this guy was black. I was seeing a Puerto Rican onstage, giving his reasons on abstinance. He made that tape metaphor that I told all of you about. I hate it when things make you think.

(I was laughing to myself the whole time because he was Puerto Rican...this show made me think about everyone a lot)

Then the Puerto Rican changed back to a black guy, but a stuck-up, "player" black guy. He talked about how he took this beautiful girl out and spent $300 on her, and how expected her to have sex with him in return. She said no, and he respected that.

Then he just thought that the girl was playing hard to get, so he kept going at her, and he raped her. In a way, it was just showing the mentality of rapists and it made me hate the character even more, but at the same time it was almost like the actor was trying to defend the rapist by showing his side of the story.

Then we switched to the girls perspective. He did a dramatic speech, repeating the fact that she told him to stop 7 times, and went into detail about the rape.

Finally, the last character, had no pertinence to my school at all, but at the same time it was my favorite character. He was a kid with cerebral paulsy, and he had been elected by his class mates as Student of the Year. The actor did the whole thing, the crooked walking, the cocked head, the speech impediment, the arm pointing upwards.

It was a great character. He talked about how he just wanted to be known. How he wanted to be treated normally, and be known as Charlie Something, not Charlie, that kid with cerebral paulsy.

I don't know, I just figure that that could be likened to anyone with a label.

And that was it.

Ah, shit, I did it again tonight, Chuck. I'm sorry that I picked up the guitar again. I didn't try to show off, really. It's just something I do. When Ben's mom came in I knew she would say something...gah...

Could you talk about making Parker the singer while I'm not there? It would be a little bit more polite, and it wouldn't reinforce the fact that no one in the band can sing any more than it already has. Why the fuck does Kevin keep telling me I have a good voice? Why is it that I could sing the Coral for him that time? Why could I start singing the Beatles FOR MY DAD tonight? What the fuck do YOU (and only you) see, or at least care about, that no one else does.

I don't even want a second guitarist, why the fuck would I want a singer? To replace [no, add on to] me?

earlier - later