good | bad | profile | band | remember-it |diaryland
waxing stupid. too lazy to write with a pen. friends and the such.
2009-03-03 - 12:44 a.m.

Photobucket

My buddy, Mike.

Possibly one of the most interesting people I've met here. He could live the rest of his life as a famous drummer, but he wants to be a brain surgeon.

[He is the smart one.]

I've spent the past three and a half years idolizing this guy, wanting so badly to be in his inner circle. At some point I realized the inanity of that desire, and forgot about it. Finding myself in his company, though, the need for acceptance would come back. We've played together in the Big Band, crammed for English exams together, and said hi in passing while I worked in the cafe.

And letting it grow organically worked. He comes over now to play Mariokart 64 and talk about our respective girlfriends, listens to my drivel on death, he put my name out there and got me on a concert bill with another one of the Skidz Music 1337. Our thing is to high-five whenever we see each other, in his words, "So it never gets awkward, and it'll never get old." It's the male companionship I've been searching for in Saratoga Springs, to match the unending supply of it back in Boston.

Still, I get that feeling from middle school when I'm surrounded by him and his friends. A bit more self-aware now--only a bit--I recognize me, the kid out his element, making his way into a "higher" social circle. So in detecting it, I can stop compromising my identity, at least not in one ignorant move.

I'm not so concerned with being a person anymore. I found out I am one. Awesome Show, Great Job!

earlier - later