good | bad | profile | band | remember-it |diaryland
too much. time for bedz.
2011-02-18 - 2:30 a.m.

Photobucket

A teacher at the school came into the office so distraught. He is the most joyous and positive person I've ever met, and when I asked if everything was okay he spoke and put long spaces between his words, weighing whether it was right to tell me or not.

He paused after saying "My son," and I expected his next words to be died but instead he said "brought a gun to school." Which is also very bad.

He looked pensive more than anything, like he was constantly trying to evaluate where he went wrong as a parent. Probably cursing his ex-wife for not paying more attention to their son that she had custody over. Wishing he spent more time with him or checked in more often.

More than anything, though, he looked as if everything he'd ever known about his son had just been nullified. I thought about how my mother reacted when my brother first came home drunk and got into trouble.

As his first student walked in, he asked me not to say anything about it, then he turned, put on the most genuine smile and laughed and asked the young boy if he was ready for his music lesson.

earlier - later