good | bad | profile | band | remember-it |diaryland
the most boring thing i've written in here in a long time. sorry.
2009-01-30 - 12:20 a.m.

What a day?

First day of rehearsals for Senior Project. The bass duet will be a pain in the ass, mostly because who the fuck writes a duet for two double bass? All metaphors for two large, domineering powers aside, possibly a bad idea.

Such a weird reception by the string players. They seemed so excited and cynical at once. Han's going to take some coaching, but that's what happens when you tell a classical player to improvise.

I'm not getting the sound I want out of the viola. I've never been able to, so maybe I'm just asking for something unreasonable every time. Per is still the most excited about the pieces. It seems like they're going out of their way to compliment me. They all want to know how it's all going to end.

It's strange, I feel like I'm making my way up in my last few months in college. I'm almost the 'respected musician' that I've wanted to be since Freshman year. I just had to find my niche.

Rejection e-mails saying that they've 'heard my stuff is really good,' they're just too busy. Mug asking how long I've been composing for, then saying 'Your stuff's really good,' like she'd seen it before. Professors telling me they're excited for my compositions. The response after Beatlemania.

And maybe the weirdest thing of all, finding my name on Skidz Unofficial for the first time, under the 'Talented People' thread. Up there with LAL, k-tar, Missy.

I know it must be a friend throwing my name out there, but let me have it, okay?

Pathetic that my self-esteem rises with mention on an anonymous confession bored, yes.

Flattering all the same.

earlier - later