good | bad | profile | band | remember-it |diaryland
i might be hearing the birds chirping, in which case I hate myself.
2010-05-29 - 4:25 a.m.

Photobucket

Why so late? Why not go to bed?

My last stop for the night, here.

I spent some time tonight talking on the porch with P, J.N's dad. We went through a lot of things. Music gears, managers, things.

But at one point he asked me if I knew the allegory of Jack and the Beanstalk. I realized I knew the story, but that was as far as my elementary studies of it had taken me.

"It's a story about growing up," he said. "At some point, every child has to make a decision, one that his parents will disapprove of, the road less traveled."

He said I was Jack now, my parents think I'm a fool for becoming a touring musician after spending four years at a shmance liberal arts college. I hadn't aired any concerns to P, but for some reason he felt like telling me all of this.

earlier - later