good | bad | profile | band | remember-it |diaryland
house sitting
2011-08-02 - 1:21 a.m.

I don't have the heart to tell her and my family that I had the most wonderful weekend of the summer--away from them, house and dog-sitting two towns away.

A big, empty house that felt like my own for a bit. Close friends dropped by to visit, spent the night. We woke up and I made breakfast, went to the beach, dipped our feet in the water by the docks.

I went for midnight walks, one dog with me, Ka holding the other's leash. Moving around empty streets like I did when I was 16. (I just haven't had a reason to since then.)

I felt more at home there than I do now waking up in my own bed, here with parents and brother in the next room. Cars breezing by, frequent in the evening, startling in night, incessant again for the morning commute.

It all happened in three days, but it felt like a two-week vacation. Relaxed for the first time in so long. My jaw loosened, I breathed deep.

I haven't dreaded the ending of anything like that in so long.

earlier - later