good | bad | profile | band | remember-it |diaryland
It is so tired in this time zone.
2012-07-01 - 3:12 a.m.

The part I love about this isn't the fans or the attention. That's one thing I've learned about this convention. I watch these people who are just kids in their bedrooms be treated like A-listers. Hordes of people, pointing them out and swarming when they try to get around.

I got asked for more autographs tonight than I ever will again in my life. Just because they saw me on stage in front of a lot of people.

The part I love is having someone tell me about my energy. Which, okay, is technically attention, but it's not the acknowledgment I'm thriving off of. It's the affirmation that they're seeing what I'm giving off, what I think I'm doing. Regardless of how bad we're playing.

Several times tonight fans said that despite their love for J, this was 'my show.' They don't know shit about sound or harmony or guitar technicalities, so I can ignore that praise. But knowing that they liked how much I moved, how into it I was, that's something I can accept.

We used to say to local bands that sucked: 'You looked like you were having fun out there!' It was the truest compliment we could pay anyone when they were doing everything else wrong.

As a duo, tonight was a trainwreck of sound problems and sloppy errors. My guitar cut out and I got 5000 people to clap along to the song. J lost her place in 2 out of 6 songs. The sound was mixed like my worst nightmare. It sucked to listen to, but the people who didn't know better were happy. They said I handled it well. They said all sound problems aside, I'm good at this shit.

earlier - later