good | bad | profile | band | remember-it |diaryland
the cape
2014-03-19 - 11:25 p.m.

It's kind of odd to want someone out of practicality, no?

My family is trying our hand again at a vacation together this summer. I say that I'm too old for these types of things, but I realize that I'm just being a spoiled teenager in his mid-twenties.

Mom sent me pictures of the place we'll be staying. I scroll through them and I just realize how much I don't want to be alone on this trip. Dan will have his girlfriend of six (six?!) years, Jackie. My mom will reunite with my dad (I can't really describe that situation).

The last couple years I haven't brought a date to any family gatherings. Which I guess is better than being the one who shows up to each function with a different girlfriend. They both kind of stink of desperation.

I picture myself in the sun with a blurred figure next to me. We're not talking, maybe just reading on the porch or beach. Under the table hand squeeze at dinner. Probably some godawful fight midweek that makes it weird for the rest of my family. Breakup by Friday, yeah fuck that I'll go stag this year.

earlier - later